JavaScript for Making Plugins - Where do I start?

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
From the Asset Store
Make your own platformer for both the web and mobile easy with this Santas Platformer Template, FULLY DOCUMENTED
  • I am an absolute beginner and while I know how to use Constuct, I want to learn JavaScript so that I get more flexibility with my work. I just wanted to know where I should start from, how do I learn the stuff that helps me with creating games and plugins for Construct.

• Anyone?

• *moved from C3 HDI to more appropriate SDK section.

Please don't bump your own post after less than 2 hours.

Those users that are capable of helping come from many different time zones, so please allow time for someone to respond.

It is generally accepted that you can 'bump' your own thread after 24 hours if no answer has been forthcoming.

Regarding learning Javascript, Google is probably more appropriate. There are literally thousands of sites teaching Javascript online. Learning Javascript is not particularly difficult - becoming proficient is another matter.

Having said that, the users who frequent this section could offer some more direct guidance.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • I am an absolute beginner and while I know how to use Constuct, I want to learn JavaScript so that I get more flexibility with my work. I just wanted to know where I should start from, how do I learn the stuff that helps me with creating games and plugins for Construct.

Do you have any programming background in languages other than JavaScript? If so, then I would recommend going to a site like to learn the syntax. If not, then jumping straight into C3 plugin programming is a really difficult place to start learning programming in general. Not impossible, but it will take several thousand hours (a few years of several hours each day) before you become truly proficient.