Weapons family to characters family

0 favourites
  • 12 posts
From the Asset Store
A collection of various zombie characters sprites for creating a 2D platformer or sidescroller game
  • Hi all,

I am no coder, and have been trying to wrap my head around family. I read and downloaded the tutorial on picking instance on families, but hitting a brick wall understanding.

Basically I created 2 weapons in weapons family, 2 players in players family, right now when one of them overlaps any weapon object. They both equip both weapons.

Would anyone be able to kindly show me how this could be done?

I have attached a capx:

drive.google.com/file/d/1tnbEPIj7ty8sSOp0-LElN2N3h8Dqd_cB/view

Thank you!

• Here's what's happening

On Player Collision with Weapon

This is 'picking' the player and the weapon involved in the collision. Any future actions within this block will be applied to THIS player and THIS weapon

Destroy Weapon

Here, you destroy the weapon that was picked. Now the weapon is no longer picked, since it no longer exists

Player spawn Weapon

Since no Weapon is picked, the game just spawns both types of Weapons at random, since it doesn't know what you want

• kidswithcrowns

Thank you. That makes sense, but I still don't know what the next steps are to allow P1 to take gun when they are overlapped.

(these are probably all wrong approaches) - I tried taking out the destroy, but it would just spawn the gun everytick. I tried set weapon position Player.ImagePointX(0), Player.ImagePointY(0), but it would jump between players randomly.

What do I need to do next, would you be able to give me an example?

Thanks in advance!

• kidswithcrowns

Thank you. That makes sense, but I still don't know what the next steps are to allow P1 to take gun when they are overlapped.