Teacher ISO Interactive fiction story resources for student new to Construct3.

0 favourites
  • 3 posts
From the Asset Store
Template for making an interactive book or a simple story book
  • Hello everyone, great to be a part of this community. Sorry for thelong post but want to try to provide as much detail for you as I can.

I am a computer science teacher in 7/8th grade and recently bought Constructs 3 for some of my students who have already excelled at platforms like Scratch and Flowlab. I could really use community help with this particular quest as my time is so limited (I'm teaching two separate curriculums in each of my classes:) and I seem to be coming up short on this one.

I have one student in particular who is really interested in learning Construct by making an interactive story game. She is a writer, and has a unique creativity in everything she has created in Scratch, but now wants to try something more versatile and advanced so I thought she might try Construct... But the thing is we are all learning it for the first time together, and while I have no problem finding platformer resources for my other students to learn with (and they are very excited to), interactive fiction has been more of a challenge.

The closest recent example of a game she liked was Florence, from Annapurna Interactive. But she also enjoyed elements of games like Gorogoa, G30, Year Walk, The White Door, and even Device 6.

If you could point me in the right direction it would really be helpful. She is incredibly creative and has a great desire to learn so I would really like to help her out. If you think Construct would not be the best option for her I would appreciate other options (although I would prefer Construct as I will be keeping it in the classroom. The other students are already into it and will continue learn using its platformer capabilities)

Thanks for reading this long post and I look forward to hearing from you. All the best!

• Try Construct 3