Is there a "SYSTEM" to track our published versions?

0 favourites
  • 11 posts
From the Asset Store
Simple and easily editable template for a dynamic camera that zooms in and out based on how far apart the players are.
  • Hey All,

Just to be clear I'm not talking about our Project Files which could be named anything on our backup Hard Drives...

I'm talking about the actual published Splash Screen or About > Version we usually see on any software and also available in C3's Project properties.

Since I'm new to developing I wonder about how it's done:

How do I "calculate" what number of version to update after every X changes?

Are there any common "rules" that are known between developers instead of just throwing numbers around?

For example:

For every X Bug Fixes + 0.001 to the current version number

For every X New Features + 0.1 to the current version number

etc..

I'm just curious if there is an actual known system of doing this correct or I just throw numbers which seems weird to me but may not be that important, it's pure curiosity but please feel free to share your knowledge. :)

Tagged:

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • In general you update the version when there is a new 'release'. Some minor bug fixes you increment by .X so 1.1 and major features you could think about updating the version number so 2.0.

• In general you update the version when there is a new 'release'. Some minor bug fixes you increment by .X so 1.1 and major features you could think about updating the version number so 2.0.

Thanks plinkie, so it's similar to my example as I thought it's more like throwing numbers in a way :)

But it's good to know that I didn't miss some common or known system, I was curious about if there was anything organized like that or not.

• That might be an interesting feature request, but how would it update?

By save, or export, etc.?