Can I use a single array for this?

0 favourites
  • 11 posts
From the Asset Store
Supports 1D, 2D, 3D arrays. Import and export arrays in JSON format
  • Hey everybody, I'm new to Construct and programming in general. I'm working on a prototype for a game where a shadow enemy follows the player's exact path. I have it working here: media.giphy.com/media/YkfNNiJS1ML5sUmz5R/source.gif

Here's my event sheet:

I have a couple of questions:

1. Is it possible to do this with one array instead of two? I wasn't sure how to get the Y value for a single array.

2. Should I be worried about performance/storage building these arrays? E.g. should I try to clear the values that have already been used?

Thanks for your help!

Tagged:

• 1. You use one array with 2 different columns, such as 0,0 and 0,1 then 1,0 and 1,1 where 0 is the X co-ord and 1 is the Y co-ords, you would push back X and then Y you need to set in the same row and for this you need to know the row's X value so use the array's width to work it out maybe array.width-1,1, where the X is set at array.width-1,0 when you push it

2. You can pop the top row of the array as you push one in

• Thanks for the quick response, lionz! I'll try what you suggested.

• Hey lionz I can't get this to work for the life of me. Any chance you can set up an event sheet?

I've tried a ton of combinations of push, insert and set actions for the array but I can't seem to get the y value to go into the right place. The only way it's worked for me is by loading a premade array from the array editor. This is what I want my array to look like, where 0, n contains the x coordinates and 1, n contains the y coordinates.

• Just jumping in between. Regarding your main question:-

1.) I have no issues in maintaining 2 arrays. When life is easy with 2 arrays then why to go with 1 array