How do I simulate a finger swipe?

0 favourites
  • 14 posts
From the Asset Store
All popular touch mechanics - scrolling, zooming, swiping
  • Please keep in mind that I'm an absolute beginner with game development, and so thoroughly "right-brained" that I lean to one side when walking. I'm struggling to figure out how to simulate a finger swipe on a square sprite in the center of my layout. After two hours of tutorials and forum posts, here's what I thought would work, but no luck. any help would be appreciated.

Tagged:

• So how do you want it to work? You touch the sprite, swipe right and the sprite should fly to the right?

You need to tell more about your game, because there are many ways to do this.

• Usually i do this by checking the angle.

You need to create a couple of variables.

TouchStartX

TouchStartY

TouchEndX

TouchEndY

TouchAngle

or something similar. When touch starts you save the XY position, when Touch Ends, you save the Touch end coordinates. Then you check the save that angle from start to finish position.

When you have the angle from start to finish, you can check if the angle is between certain values, it would count as either up, down, left or right swipe.

At least that's the basic idea, i don't have any clean project with only that, but hopefully it's enough to get you going.

• I put together a quick little project for you.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/lwoo2tu9v8ide5l/touchSwipe.c3p?dl=1

Hope that helps :)

Added some comments as well to help you understand how it works.

• So how do you want it to work? You touch the sprite, swipe right and the sprite should fly to the right?

You need to tell more about your game, because there are many ways to do this.

This concept animation will explain the game much more concisely than I can. I'm trying to figure out the very basics of what I need to do, and then "baby-step" my way through the project.

dropbox.com/s/ld932vawlrfe4zd/GameConcept.key