How do I show where the player previously died?

0 favourites
  • 3 posts
From the Asset Store
Basic Rounded Vector Geometry Player Design with Glow for 3 player games
  • Hi, I would like to know how I could create an indicator for the previous game overs' whereabouts. I apologize for not knowing the correct terminology for the mechanic; I'm new to this. Let me give you an example to clarify my question; when the main character dies, a tombstone appears. When you restart again, you'll see the tombstone when you go back to the place you previously died.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • This should be quite straight forward.

Create a 'headstone' sprite.

When the player dies...

1) Destroy the headstone (In case you created it in another place)

2) spawn another object (action: Player>Spawn another object)

3) Choose the headstone

When the player dies, a headstone will be in its place.

(Edit: If you restart the layout, you will need the PERSIST behaviour on the headstone to keep its values)

• Hi, I would like to know how I could create an indicator for the previous game overs' whereabouts. I apologize for not knowing the correct terminology for the mechanic; I'm new to this. Let me give you an example to clarify my question; when the main character dies, a tombstone appears. When you restart again, you'll see the tombstone when you go back to the place you previously died.

Create 2 global variables and make sure you dont reset them when layout is restarted! meaning dont use reset global variables.