How do I "set text" using variable value ?

0 favourites
  • 11 posts
From the Asset Store
Easily store, modify, read and manipulate colors with Color Variables!
  • Hi,

I'm new to Construct and I think is awesome but it will take time to learn it.

I'd like to create a book. For this book I'm trying to use just 2 layouts (1 is the Menu and the second one is the book itself). For the chapters I'm using a list in the Menu layout, I did a search function and when the chapter is selected it will be the current value of a variable. When I go to the Book layout, I'm using 2 sprite fonts, one for the chapter title and one for the story. For the title is easy, I'm using "set text to variable_name" and the title is the value from the variable (Chapter1 for example). Now for the text story I can't find a solution. I created texts for every chapter and the name of the texts are the exact names from the list in the menu (e.g Chapter1). How can I use the variable value (that is the same as the title and the name of the Chapter) and set text from Chapter1.Text for example (set text to variable_name.Text is not allowed, is not an object). Hope someone will help me.

Thank you in advanced.

• Construct doesn't allow to access variables by their string name. It's only possible via scripting.

You should use a bunch of events like these:

Compare variable ChapterNameVariable="Chapter1" Text Set text to Chapter1
    Compare variable ChapterNameVariable="Chapter2" Text Set text to Chapter2

But a much better solution is to use a dictionary. Create a new Dictionary file with texts for each chapter. Then you'll be able to access dictionary keys using these expressions:

Dictionary.Get("Chapter1")

or

Dictionary.Get(ChapterNameVariable)

• Thank you dop, I'll try as you said.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • You are awesome !!! A big THX from me.