How do I set a sprite to random positions in the layout?

0 favourites
  • 9 posts
From the Asset Store
Easily generate many levels from a set of pre-built scenes (Construct 3 template)
  • How do I set a sprite to random positions on the layout?

Technically, on the start of the layout, the sprite will spawn in a random position on the layout. also I want there to be a select of postions and construct will randomize where to put the sprite in these positions. For example if the layout starts then the sprite will spawn randomly on one of the 3 positions I want it to.

Please help! I'm new to construct lmao.

• If you want the sprite truly anywhere on the layout, you can set the position to:

random(layoutWidth)

random(layoutHeight)

Unless your layout is entirely open, as in no solids or areas sprites shouldn't be (walls, for example), you probably don't want this.

If you want to do more of a concept of spawning zones, I would make spawn zone sprites. Set the sprites to invisible, so that you can see them in the editor but not while playing.

In the condition part of your action, use the System condition (select System, not the sprite), and use "Pick Random Instance". This will pick a random spawn zone sprite each time. (if new, you might want to read about "picking" in events)

If you want them in random spots in the spawn zone, you can use the same concept as I started off with, using set position to:

random(spawnZone.BBoxLeft, spawnZone.BBoxRight)

random(spawnZone.BBoxTop, spawnZone.BBoxBottom)

I do a similar thing, except for movement instead of spawning, in this game: loubagel.com/games/sunnyside-smash