How to search for keys in Json files?

0 favourites
  • 7 posts
From the Asset Store
Piano Keys
$3.99 USD
A musical typing game where the goal is to play a song by pressing the matching keys as fast as you can!
  • I have a Json file that was created within construct 3 with the dictionary's native plugin in the "files" folder. It's like a dictionary, but I know that those files created in the file folder are actually Json files, correct?

What I want to do is the following:

Start of layout / Request file.json('tag")

Ajax on "tag" completed / Parse json string Ajax.lastData

So far so good. I uploaded the Json file.

All the keys in my Json file are numbers. But what I want to do is parse all the keys looking for a specific number, until I find that number.

When it finds the key that matches the number I want, I want it to return the value of that key. And then I want to show that value in a text object. How could I do this? I'm breaking my head because I'm a beginner at this.

Tagged:

• Generally speaking, you do a JSON for each, along with a system compare two values, json.currentvalue = value.

Depends on the format of your JSON though, if you can loop through objects at a path.

Considering you saved the json with the dictionary object though, it would make more sense to load the json back into the dictionary object, and use the dictionary.get(key) expression.

Seems kinda silly to use the dictionary object to save as json to try to parse it as json and manually recreate the functionality of the dictionary object.

• I used the json dictionary object because it's easier to edit so many keys manually. And it is also possible to retrieve key values directly from json, without having to pass to a dictionary. But I can retrieve values in that json, but I can't parse the whole json looking for the numeric key I want.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads