run game on linux?

0 favourites
  • 14 posts
From the Asset Store
Full game Construct 2 and Construct 3 to post on Google Play
  • How do I run my exported NWJS game on Linux?

I put my exported Zip onto Linux Mint (I'm new to linux, but this one feels like windows) and when I extracted it, the [project name] file does not have a file extension, so how do I run my game?

On windows, the file has an .exe which lets you run the game. But why is there no extension at all on the linux version? What am I supposed to do next?

Thanks!

• Executables on Linux are specified by an executable file permission rather than using any specific file extension.

You can run it from the terminal. IIRC Linux supports desktop shortcuts but last I checked these only work with absolute paths, so Construct can't auto-generate that as it doesn't know where in storage the files will be extracted. I think you'd have to make an installer or something to put the right desktop files in. It might have also varied depending on the distribution or window manager. I think it was kind of a mess last I looked in to it...

• Thanks Ashley!

I'm not sure how to run it from terminal. (Also just as a heads up your tutorial doesn't say how to do run the game either construct.net/en/tutorials/exporting-desktop-apps-nw-js-15) Maybe Linux is just not supposed to be user friendly.

But yeah it seems really messy, or tedious, attempting to make builds for non-Windows systems unfortunately. Perhaps it's just not really possible.

• 1. Open a file browser and search where extract the project

2. Right click > open in terminal

3. type: ./'New project'

(New project the default name. Your project will be different)

In linux the start file will be the project name (default: New project) without extension

• Thanks nyuszi008, my game is running using that!

I'm guessing that when it's on Steam, that Steam will somehow just run the file without having to type a command in terminal each time.