restart time

0 favourites
  • 9 posts
From the Asset Store
Time rewind like in "Braid". Choose objects that will be affected by time rewind
  • I have a racing game which has a timer and records your time.

I have a button to restart later at the end of the game, but it doesn’t restart the timer.

How can I completely restart everything as if it’s a new game?

Thanks

Andy

• yourTimer = YourSTartTime - time

when you want to restart yourTimer just set variable yourSTartTime to time ( time is a System variable )

Usually these actions will be in a function called reset, you can reset everything else there ( just copy/paste all variables and their initial values ) and just call reset when you want to restart things.

But if you have a countdown before a race starts, like 3-2-1-go then you have to reset yourSTartTime on GO

• Thanks for your help.

I'm just starting out with Construct so i used the template 'racetrack' as a starting point.

There is a 3 second countdown at the start of the race.

There is a global number called TimeStartLayout = 0

But I cannot see that variable referenced anywhere in the event sheet?

I'm not sure how to use what you have generously provided.

• Assuming you haven't changed it too much, the Racetrack template has an array, aTimes, that stores lap times for each car. It sounds like you want to reset this. See the "resetCP" function for an example on setting all array elements to zero.

Starting out, you'll want to spend times on simpler, smaller examples and make sure to use the debugger to step through the events to see what's happening.

• Thank you - I will look at that. I thought this was a simple one to start on!

• I have been trying to replicate the function for resetCP - but I cannot get it to work.

I have a button to 'replay' and I tried attaching a function to that to reset the 'aTimes' array. like this:

But it's not doing anything.

I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong?

• Try Construct 3