How do I put sprites in 2D or 3D array?

0 favourites
  • 9 posts
From the Asset Store
Supports 1D, 2D, 3D arrays. Import and export arrays in JSON format
  • Hi, i have a question. i am a beginner making game on construct3 (an object finding game, mystery solving). i have 11 mysteries with 11 hints. User have to find the correct object according to the mystery in a given time and after solving one the next will appear. i haven't used arrays before but i've watched tutorials. All these mysteries and hints are sprites added seperately and i am having difficulty in putting the sprites in a 2D or 3D array. And one more thing i want to make appear the mysteries randomly , how can i use random funtion on multi-dimentional array. It would be highly appreciated if anyone can guide/help. thankyou!

• It's not totally clear what you mean. Do you mean storing the pixel data of a Sprite in a construct array at runtime?

If not you may need to show an example.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • It's indeed hard to understand, but I'm guessing what you want to do is have a sprite with 11 frames. The frame number would be part of the array, and you can make them appear randomly. Just pick them by animation frame.

You could check how to use 3D arrays for example in this tutorial on my youtube channel:

youtu.be/fMtO7q1Wrus

Hope that helps. Maybe some screenshots might clarify more

• Arrays in C3 can only hold values, not objects. So to try to store sprites in an array is impossible...

If I were going to try and put together a scene with key items placed randomly, that the player needs to spot and then click on, I would probably try this approach first: