How do I make one save/load procedure that can work for all platforms ?

0 favourites
  • 7 posts
From the Asset Store
A pack of 76 platform designs for a platformer game with a mushroom/jungle theme
  • Hi Guys,

I would like to know if there a one specific save/load process that can work on browser, steam, android and app store versions ? My game only need storing a couple of global variables and to be able to clear saves from within the game.

As I understand from documentation I can either use a simple save/load commands for store full state of the game or use local storage commands to store specific entities. Since I am unable to clear the game saves from within the game I feel like using local storage is better as I only have to store few global variables. But before I implement I would like to ask your wisdom to guide me to a procedure that can work for all types of game publishes.

This could be a total noob question as it might not be possible due to architectural differences between each platforms, but wanted to put it out there just in case I am missing something.

Thanks a mil for the support.

Tagged:

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • For storing a few values definitely go with Local Storage, it works on any platform. I have a simple example:

howtoconstructdemos.com/easily-save-multiple-values-in-local-storage

Note, that it's local, which means that the save will be lost if players uninstall your game or clear browser data in a browser version.

• Thanks for your reply dop2000.

You had mentioned that the save data will be deleted if players uninstall your game or clear browser data in a browser version. Is there any alternate way to be able to preserve the saves if user choose to ?