Multiplayer Help: How do I sync host/peer global variables?

0 favourites
  • 7 posts
From the Asset Store
Game with complete Source-Code (Construct 3 / .c3p) + HTML5 Exported.
  • I'm just learning how to do Multiplayer and I am having difficulty getting the host and peer to constantly exchange their global variable information or something of the sort.

I am using the Pong program as my reference, but I am still missing something. What I am trying to accomplish in my test program is, have both the host and peer be able to share all their variable states (user name to start) and interact from their exclusive layout pages. Ultimately I am trying to make a card game. Your own mobile device would show only your hand of cards and the played cards would be visible and common to both host and peer.

Right now my program will show the host name only on the host device and the peer name only on the peer device. How do I get them to share info an update continuously? What am I missing?

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1MRMk-2nqRhQWi6Lvw-lY3uFSb4oSfjNJ

• In reference to sharing variables/information between players, I'd create an invisible object that's created when a player joins (both Host and Peer), and is associated with that player. Each player's info/variables would be added to those objects. Additionally, to sync that information, just follow the multiplayer tutorial and sync objects, as well as their instance variables (similarly to how Input is synced in the examples).