How do I make this kind of quiz?

0 favourites
  • 7 posts
From the Asset Store
Game with complete Source-Code (Construct 3 / .c3p) + HTML5 Exported.
  • Hello friends,

I have honestly worked very hard and learned a lot since first starting with Construct a few months ago, but this kind of quiz mechanic is something I just don't know how to do. I wouldn't normally post asking how to do something from the ground up like this.

I'm a teacher in India, and I'm making all educational content. I am extremely motivated to learn how to achieve the functionality below, the basic concepts of which I can then adapt and apply to a wide variety of content:

dropbox.com/s/me7mgmaedcg5ow9/basicAudioQuiz.c3p

1. A random audio file is played from a group of related files.
    2. There is a matching set of images that share all the same file prefixes as the audio files.
    3. Three possible answer matches are generated from these image files, with one of course being correct. They are randomized.

I can do the other parts to turn it into an engaging game, but I just don't understand the logic required to make the main mechanic work properly. The use scenario I am posting in the project file above is to teach basic Hindi consonants. The project file includes a set of audio files and matching images.

I would greatly appreciate any help. Thanks.

Tagged:

• so to pick the random sound I would do this

set global string pickedConsonant to: choose(ba,cha,ga,ha,...)

to play the correct audio assuming it has the same name:

play audio by name: pickedConsonant

now create the answer image assuming they have the same name

create object by name: pickedConsonant

so now create the wrong answers

repeat 3x

create object by name: choose(ba,cha,ga,ha,...)

to compare if the player has selected the correct answer you can compare the name of the clicked image with the string pickedConsonant

• so to pick the random sound I would do this