How do I make the item system from Undertale?

0 favourites
  • 9 posts
From the Asset Store
Cartoon Funny Item Interface Sound Pack comes with 426 high-quality sound effects
  • Basically I want it so that once you press z while on the item button, 4 items will appear and if you press d or a, other items can appear as well like in Undertale, I don't know how to describe it any better but I have been contemplating if I should use the text object or the list object for this and how to execute it

• I would use an array.

• So how would I do it? I have never done arrays before and I don't know how to start it and code it

• Start by adding an Array object to your project. Arrays are used to store multiple values in a single variable. They work like tables (rows and columns).

In the properties set the Width and the Height. Example, if you only have one item, let's say an HP Potion, your array could be set to Width 1 (one row for one item) and Height 3 (three columns = name, hp, qty):

Array object items [name][hp][qty] => ['HP Potion']['45']['2']

If you have two items (HP Potion and MP Potion) the array could be set to Width 2 and Height 3:

['HP Potion']['45']['2']

['MP Potion']['25']['1']

etc. etc. if you have more items.

You can add as many rows and columns as you want depending on how many items you want to include in your game. Maybe use an array for your items and an array for your weapons if you have any.

construct.net/en/make-games/manuals/construct-3/plugin-reference/array

youtu.be/Us6aTgpreQ4

• ok, I'll give it a shot and thank you

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • You're welcome. I hope it helps.

• Actually I just thought about something, I know that arrays work for sprites with different animations, but what I am trying to do is that the items are text from one sprite, like this