How do I Implement CLAMP ?

2 favourites
  • Hi All,

I've created a slider from scratch (sprites) using the Drag and Drop behavior.

I'm trying to limit the Dragable Knob on the X position based on Minimum/Maximum values.

I have never used Clamp before but I'm guessing that this may be the most efficient way to limit the slider on the X, I'm guessing.

CLAMP IT:

So, I get the idea in general: clamp(x, lower, upper)

But... how do I implement it to the drag and drop object?

I didn't find any example on the manual. most of the forum results have dead links so I cannot explore and learn how to use it.

After clueless attempts which made of guesses all I have is what I described, trying to guess how it works is impossible for a non-programmer like me, any help will be appreciated I'll be happy to learn how to use this tool: "CLAMP" if you can explain it to me with examples / screenshots / or anything visual for a newbie. THANKS Ahead! :)

DOWNLOAD - Base C3 File I messed with while guessing how to CLAMP

Tagged:

• Object Is Dragging -> Object set X to clamp(self.x, 100, 200)

Object On Drop -> Object set X to clamp(self.x, 100, 200)

fixed file, now with multiple sliders support:

dropbox.com/s/ggdelkhq5yer51i/Clamp%20Test%20-%20v2.c3p

edit: and an example how to set the slider to any value.

• Object Is Dragging -> Object set X to clamp(self.x, 100, 200)

Object On Drop -> Object set X to clamp(self.x, 100, 200)

The good news is that the CLAMP is working, it is limiting the width which is great!

The problem I have is that the Knob jumps to the screen's X location instead from it's self current X position.

I want the knob to clamp the values in general and not based on where it sits on the screen because I will probably move the slider around within a dragable panel later on.

• Why "Slider.width-Slider.width"?? You don't have to be a programmer to understand that the result will be 0.