I'm having issues with melee attack

1 favourites
  • 3 posts
From the Asset Store
Zombie attack is a survival game, where you have 2 types of games: Killer and survival.
  • Hey folks! I'm very new to using Construct 3 (I've had it about 3 months or so) and have been learning how to use it by making a simple platformer level from scratch.

What I'm trying to do

Currently, I'm trying to allow the Player to swing his sword in order to attack enemies. Here's what the Player Attack section of the event sheet looks like.

As you can see, I have the platform behavior added to the PlayerBox object and created a separate Sprite called PlayerAnim which contains all my animations (walk, jump, attack, etc.) and is positioned to the PlayerBox on every tick.

The idea is, I have a "Slash" sprite (which is a frame from the player_attack animation) created as an object which, on collision with an enemy sprite, does damage. I got this idea from the "Demonoire" project template that comes with Construct 3.

The Problem

1. The Slash sprite is way smaller than the PlayerAnim sprite despite the images being the same size. Ideally it would be the same size so it overlaps the PlayerAmin sprite perfectly. This way I can set the collision points on the sword only for the Slash sprite and the collision points for the player only on the PlayerAnim sprite.

Currently I have to walk to the middle of an enemy in order to kill him.

2. The Slash sprite sticks around if I attack while jumping/moving, because it's set to be destroyed when the "attack_sword" animation is finished player. I'm not sure how to fix this.

3. I disabled player movement during the attack events, but for some reason I'm still able to move the player while attack (fixing this might make #2 in this list moot.)

And that's it!

Here's a link to the .c3p file

drive.google.com/file/d/1GWvo4-X4L1GgZ2R605EUHhERuf-IyraO/view