Having trouble loading my game in a browser - how do I fix this?

0 favourites
  • 4 posts
From the Asset Store
This is a single chapter from the Construct Starter Kit Collection and the Student Workbook from the Workshop.
  • Hi there, I'm very new to construct (and game making in general), but I'm using this program to make a project for a gallery show. Its not a game persé, but more of an interactive piece of concept art, where you can walk around as my character through buildings and such.

Anywhoo, my game is basically just a bunch of images organized in layers, with three invisible tilemaps. I have everything finished, and it works fine in preview. The problem comes with the fact that everything might be too large. I shrunk most of my images in photoshop and re-uploaded them, but when I export everything and put the folder in Netlify, the website (with the construct loading screen) takes forever to load, and when it does finish loading, it is just a black screen. I'm worried that its not just a matter of my images being too large, but maybe I have too MANY images. If someone could help me out, I'd be super thankful. My goal is for it to take a decent amount of time to load in a browser, and for it to work.

Here's a little video so you can see what I'm doing:

youtube.com/watch

Here's the file:

drive.google.com/file/d/1xtTLyaV0ajCTWFfl95vq9niS6KICWe08/view

Tagged:

• You need to optimize the graphics in your game. The number of images doesn't matter, but their size does. The images in your game are insanely huge!

First of all, why your viewport size is set to 10000x5000? What kind of monitor supports this resolution? You need to set the viewport size to something like 1920x1080 and then resize all images (in the animation editor, not on the layout!) to fit the viewport.