How do I use function maps?

0 favourites
  • 9 posts
  • Hi everyone, I'm new to Construct and programming in general.

As stated from the title, how do I use function maps?

I understand the use of functions and I have read the example on mapping RedFunction/BlueFunction/GreenFunction but I can't seem to wrap my head around it's purpose and how should it be used.

Can anyone please enlighten me?

• Previously you could call functions by an expression of their name, e.g. "Call myVariable". In this case assume "myVariable" could be one of "foo", "bar" or "baz", and so it calls the function according to the provided string.

The new builtin functions don't support this. Instead you separately associate a string with the function. E.g. associate string "foo" with function Foo, associate string "bar" with function Bar, and associate string "baz" with function Baz.

Then you call a function by its string with the "Call mapped function" action. So you'd use "Call mapped function myVariable", and it calls either Foo, Bar or Baz based on whether the string is "foo", "bar" or "baz".

So it basically does the same thing as calling a function by an expression of its name, but with a different approach. If you want to pass parameters, it also has an option to forward parameters from another call. The benefit is now 'Find all references' is accurate, and you can safely rename functions without breaking anything.

• Hi thanks Ashley for the added explanation.

re maps, I Ive got it now except how to pass multiple parameters.

i can see from the advanced example that you are passing one parameter (from index 1)

but how to pass more than 1?

• OK I think there is a bug where Previous versions of (New) Functions are still existing after being updated. This is why I am having difficulty seeing how to pass multiple parameters. Now there are multiple versions of changed functions with the same name.

Not sure if this bug is covered by github.com/Scirra/Construct-3-bugs/issues/2851