Can Function make my code more efficient?

0 favourites
From the Asset Store
Two levels with two sistem Wave. with Source-code (.c3p) + HTML5 Exported.
  • The above code is working just fine. However, I'm wondering how I can make it more efficient. I'm still learning about functions, and I'm curious if I can enhance their efficiency using a function. Below is how I started. Any suggestions?

• You can usually start refactoring code/events by describing what you are trying to do in as few words as possible.

For me at least, it's not entirely clear what your desired result is just from looking at the events, so it's difficult to give advice about how to make it more compact.

• Giving advice is a thankless task.

I would follow the wish "if it works you don't need to get in the way".

• Hi, oosyrag, Thanks for your response,

I think the overall code feels a bit lengthy. For example, there's a repetitive pattern eg.

"+ System: Pick BUTTON where BUTTON.AnimationName = String_LV"

However, some of these events also include a "Trigger once" condition. I'm not certain whether we can refactor these into a function to improve efficiency.

Edit 1.

Speaking about the code, its purpose is to auto Spawn icons and text on a button on the run time. When the animation name of the button matches the value of "String_LV",

and for the text, "Button_Name.Button_Name_iv" matches the value of "String_LV", it will Spawn and reposition itself to the button.

(TextVisibility_iv, Clickable_iv & ICONVisibility_iv are Booleans, if it is true, then it will be executed, in the given code, all are true)

Having said that the same code will be used in multiple buttons (same button sprite but different instance of button), with only variations in local variables, I posted this question to explore avenues for enhancing efficiency.

• Giving advice is a thankless task.

I would follow the wish "if it works you don't need to get in the way".

😅😂

• I still have no idea what your buttons are for.