How do i make Friday night funkin' notes with json?

0 favourites
From the Asset Store
A fun horror zombie game you can upload to your website
  • sorry if i didn't explain clearly in the title since this is my first time on the forum

I've been trying for the past week to make a Friday night funkin' game but i am having trouble with creating the notes

i am using in-game .json files to create the notes but i cant figure out how to make it work

i think it should work like this

i get first array number which should be "sectionNotes[0]" or "sectionNotes.0"

(i think its "sectionNotes.0" since i looked at the documentation)

then i check if the "sectionNotes.0" is the current audio time then i do some math to get the current audio time in milliseconds

then check if the second number is 0, 1, 2, or 3 then create a note

then my second problem

it is an array in array and im not sure how to get the values unless i need to edit them

• Isn't the example "Rythm game" simpler to work with ?

What "documentation" are you referring to ?

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • the documentation i am refering to is https://www.construct.net/en/make-games/manuals/construct-3/plugin-reference/json

and i looked at the rhythm game template and it doesnt seem like it would work with the json files that Friday night funkin' uses

• Oh now I understand your issue.

You are using an external format, in .JSON files and want to parse it in Construct to make your own engine using those files as data.

You can see how you can use the "For each entry" condition in the JSON example in the start page of Construct.

As you can notice, your "sectionNotes" array is at the same level as the "authors" array in the example.

You can indeed check paths that will give something like

notes.sectionNotes.X in your case (X being 0, 1, 2...)