How do I fix this character keyboard action?

0 favourites
  • 3 posts
From the Asset Store
Total customisation of the input! You can combine inputs from all peripherals. Make your game accessible for everyone!
  • Hi everyone

I'm new to programming and construct.

I have a character (Valentina) where I have set a variable assigned to her depending on what key or combination of keys the player presses.

For example:

idle animation = 0

Walking (RHT arrow) = 1

(SUB EVENT) Running (SHIFT plus RHT arrow) = 2

Walking (LFT arrow) = 3

(SUB EVENT) Running (SHIFT plus LFT arrow) = 4

Then I've setup the actions depending on the variable:

If it's = to 0 then play "idle animation"

if it's = to 1 then play "walking animation"

if it's = to 2 then play "running animation"

On release while SHIFT is down then MINUS 1 (because I don't know if player is running or walking - this will set it back to it's original state)

That all works beautifully.

So now I want to add a UP arrow for JUMP action.

Logically, I would (and I tried!):

adding a second Sub-EVENT under the variable settings and then call the action later to that variable as such:

Walking (RHT arrow) = 1

(SUB EVENT) Running (SHIFT plus RHT arrow) = 2

(2nd SUB EVENT) Jumping (up arrow) = 5

If it = 5 then play "jump animation)

This doesn't work.

I then tried creating a 2nd variable for the "Valentina" animation, specifically for jumping. That didn't work either. I can't recall all the things I tried, but I got it right(ish) at one point where the "jump" animation was active at the right time, but it didn't animate (it only showed the first frame and didn't play frames 0 to 21) no matter what I tried it was static.

Am I being too convoluted and over thinking things?

It's almost like I'm missing an "IF" command haha

IF animation is 123 just do xyz for crying out loud! :-D