Database: MySQL+PHP vs Array+AJAX vs Firebase plugin

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
From the Asset Store
Paypal PHP Supports multiple platforms, Web/html5 Android, IOS. (Including storing transaction data)
  • I am developing a strategy war board game. Each player choses his soldiers from a database. I am aware that an online DB is needed for the game to keep track scoring. That's another issue.

The point is the soldiers DB has 500 entries, each soldier having 50 stats aprox. And those values are never changing. So I was wondering whether an offline DB for that would be better. I mean an array, XML or a project file via AJAX.

On the other hand, Perhaps the fact that once a player chooses a team, he is allowed to save that team for future battles, means that teams must be saved on the same DB than soldiers, in order to be accessed. So, it should be an online DB. Am I wrong?

I am no programmer, so my undestanding comes from reading the tutorials and the posts from the forum.

Maybe I can create an offline DB for the soldiers and an online DB for the players' teams, which calls the soldiers DB.

Anyway, I've been reading some people cpncerns about SQL not being as safe as JSON. The same for XML. And also people telling arrays with so many fiels slow down performance. Can someone lighten me?

• Let me understand it better...

Is it an online game/multiplayer or is it a single player game or even local multiplayer?

If it is an offline game just use all of it locally.. the only reason to use a online db is if you plan to add new soldiers or change their stats frequently. If you do it localy you will have to update the app everytime you change soldier/stats.

• It is an online game. Troop stats never change, actually. They are in the game or destroyed - no health bar/stat.

Yet the different troops in a player's team and their number may change. Let me take an example-