I think so. If you add new content to your game when the user loads a previous game could be some errors.
For example, if in the version 1.0 the life of your character is represented by 3 hearts and in the version 2.0 you modify this to be represented by a number from 0 to 100.
When the user loads a game on your 2.0 version that had been previously saved on the 1.0 version....the user will see the 3 hearts, or if you have deleted that sprite probably he doesn't see anything.
BUT......you can avoid this using the condition >On game loaded......to replace old elements.