How do I change global variables before including an event sheet?

0 favourites
  • 7 posts
From the Asset Store
Globals 2.0
$3.99 USD
Globals 2.0 stores and group variables. You can also load and save data (variables) from/to JSON files.
  • Hi -

This is a newbie question: I can't figure out how to update global variables on an event sheet before I include another one.

Say I have a layout that should update some globals I set earlier (level number increase, number of enemies increase, etc.) before going on to the displaying and the mechanics of the game. Like this:

In that layout's event sheet I set System > On start of layout > Set variable to x, above the rest of the included event sheets (for displaying and the mechanics of the game), but the events in those included event sheets still use the default global variable values.

Are includes not synchronous? I'm sure there's a simple answer for this but I can't seem to find it. Thanks :)

• Im not good with that but i think the include event sheet start first even if its down of some events.

You have to deal with system -> set group active.

So create a group with the update variable you want and set it active the time you want, also deactivate it "unchecked the active on start".

• I just tried it and it works as expected: https://www.dropbox.com/s/2m5df288h640h0o/New%20project%20%285%29.c3p?dl=0

So if something's wrong, it's probably not this.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • I must be misunderstanding how Construct deals with the start of layout condition, then.

To recreate what's happening in my game with what you put together Ashley, if you take the "Set text" action you have in sheet 1 and paste it to sheet 2, then change the condition from every tick to start of layout, you'll see the variable reverts back to the default, even though we set it earlier.