Can't compare instance variables?

0 favourites
  • 13 posts
From the Asset Store
Easily store, modify, read and manipulate colors with Color Variables!
  • I'm trying to compare two boolean values, but for some reason it says I need to create instance variables first. I have, and if I use a single instance variable condition the list shows the items, but when I try to compare two, it says I have to create instance items first. Any ideas?

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • I don't think that is possible to do that.

As boolean just store true or false I think that you just need to create an condition on your object: is boolean instance variable set? for both, if both are set it means that both have the same value.

• I'm new to Construct 3, but are you suggesting that construct doesn't support comparing one value against another?

• I'm new to Construct 3, but are you suggesting that construct doesn't support comparing one value against another?

No, Im saying that C3 probably not allow to compare a value (string, text, number) to a boolean (flag).

And that C3 has a condition to compare if the boolean variable flag are true or false.

• So this is my setup:

If I were doing this in javascript, i'd have a condition after those two like so:

if (this.Hovered != this.LastHovered) {
     // Do Stuff
    }

How would I replicate this comparison as a condition?

• So this is my setup:

If I were doing this in javascript, i'd have a condition after those two like so:

> if (this.Hovered != this.LastHovered) {
    // Do Stuff
    }

I thought it was an instance variable. Try condition: System -> is boolean set

• I forgot to remove the variable before taking the screenshot, sorry! I've got it working with the following setup, but I'd prefer to not have to have two chained conditions like this, I'd prefer to be able to say 'if the values are different'.