When I call some animations they are playing only the first frame and then stop. Any ideas?

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
From the Asset Store
Selection frame like in RTS games, works both on mobile and desktop devices.
  • How can I upload the .c3p file here? Thanks.

• It looks like you're starting the animation over every tick.

Your code says "Every tick, if down is pressed, start playing the crouch animation at frame 0."

I think you only want to play the animation if it's not already playing. Try adding an "is not playing crouch" to your sub-event next to "is on floor".

• Hi brushfe. Thanks for the reply. I've tried what you suggested, and she crouch, but doesn't return to idle. In fact, even without no sub, just the keyboard or gamepad command, she execute this behavior.

I'm totally new to this, so it's probably the logic behind the events that I am getting wrong. Would you mind to try to explain the "order" and "conditions" in which I must pay attention to correctly build the code to execute several different animations?!

Thanks from Brazil.

• Sure thing! The important thing to remember about Event Sheets is that they're processed over and over, from top to bottom, in a never-ending loop (and dozens of loops per second).

In your screenshot, for example, if the user is holding "down", the event in the red box is triggered every tick. Meaning around 60 times per second, the "crouch" animation is being played - from the beginning of the animation, which is why you're seeing it stuck on the first frame.

In the screenshot below, you can see the "Duck" animation only starts playing if it's not playing already. So the user can hold the down key as long as they want, but the "Duck" animation will only play once, and play all the way through.

Let me know if this answers your question!

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads