How do I make a button go to a url?

0 favourites
  • 15 posts
From the Asset Store
J-BoB Game Button Sound Pack comes with 300 high-quality sound effects
  • Hi guys, I am still a newb with Construct, but I've put together a math game which you can see here: play.mathfactsmatter.com

It is supposed to let the user submit their score to a high score chart that I have built using PHP, MySQL, and WordPress.

I have the game generate a series of variables that it puts in the URL. The special page I made then takes it and stores it in the database and presents a form to collect their information, but the problem is that the browser seems to be blocking the URL without giving any sort of warnings or anything.

What happens is you go through, play the game, then click the button to submit your score. It is supposed to go to a special form I have made outside of Construct 3 but on the same subdomain.

What I'm finding it does in Chrome on both mobile and desktop is that it doesn't go to the URL and instead it just reloads the page or restarts the game losing the score information.

I did a bunch of searching and found someone saying somewhere in the forum to create a form button and set the opacity to 0 over where they are supposed to click.

I tested it on my phone in the DuckDuckGo browser and it worked fine but in Chrome it doesn't work. I haven't tested all the browsers yet, but Chrome is the most important one to work since it's the most widely used one.

I have tried attaching different events to it individually and in an OR block. I've tried just having a click event on the button. So far no luck.

Here's what I currently have it set to.

Is there a way to get this thing to work?

• Might want to check out the Ajax plug

construct.net/en/make-games/manuals/construct-3/plugin-reference/ajax

Be aware that cors is a major issue, but shouldn't as difficult if you are within the same domain.