Is this a bug or am I missing something?

0 favourites
  • 8 posts
From the Asset Store
Game with complete Source-Code (Construct 3 / .c3p) + HTML5 Exported.
  • Hi,

Construct newbie here, only been using it about 3-4 weeks. I've been working on a card game, basically a Hearthstone clone with spaceships, and it's coming along quite nicely now, except I've come across something a bit strange recently.

I have an event that shows a larger version of any card when the cursor hovers over a card sprite

However, it seems that when this event triggers, it affects the pinning of some text objects attached to other card sprites. Normally this wouldn't be an issue as the cards don't move around much, but while cards are ready to attack they are set to a sine movement on the Z elevation. So while this event is active the text object seems to be going in and out of visibility, almost as if they're going behind the sprite. Then when the event ends, the text stays either visible or not depending on the point that the event ends.

Having tried disabling different parts of the event to see what might be causing it, it seems to be when I choose to pick the top instance of the Deck sprite (the sprite used for both cards in hand and active), but I can't see why picking the top instance out of one group of sprites, would affect the pinning (at least I think it's the pinning that it's affecting) of a text object to another instance of the same sprite? It also seems to only happen when the cursor is over multiple sprites.

If anyone has any thoughts it would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

Here's my full project file as well

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1qvSbR8jQXyWze24yN4ecDrb9JqZrVHHI

• It's too difficult to get to a point where you can reproduce the bug, better it is set up to show the bug.

• Ah yes, fair enough. Sorry, I didn't think about that, I'll see if I can set up an example version like that, thanks.