BIG PROBLEM! 5V5 RPG Turn Order is Over 13000 Events and now the System cant handle anymore

0 favourites
  • 12 posts
From the Asset Store
A well commented RPG game template to learn from or use as a base for your own game!
  • Ok first of all yes i am a noob. No developing exp at all just a normal guy with a big idea. Im working on a turn based rpg. Right now im creating the turn order and how to decide which character goes first based on how fast their speeds are. (Eg. P1 100spd, P2 101spd, P3 99spd. So P2 would go 1st, P1 goes 2nd and P3 goes last.) In my case I have 5v5 so thats a maximum of 10 players on screen at one time. Since I couldnt find a practical way of sorting out the turn orders I had to go with a very tedious way of going about things which has resulted in over 13000 events and ive still not gotten past turn order 5. The reason why there are soo many events is due to the sheer number of different turn orders involved with 10 characters on the screen at once ( thousands upon thousand of different combinations. Its possible for p1 to go 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th etc. )

Basically in conclusion I need an efficient way that I can make a system that can determine turn order for a 5V5. Ive tried many times to look up demos, tutorials and youtube videos but no one can answer my question and Im desperate. Its taken me months just to finally make it to turn 5 out of 10 turns with 1000s of possible turn combinations. Ive hit 13000 events and now whenever I copy and paste an event it overlaps the previous event and i lose progress. heres a pic:

• First off, my condolences for your 13,000 events and resolve to attempt this feat. If you were familiar with the math, you might have realized that there are 3,628,800 possible combinations of 10 positions. So you're lucky in that you seem to have hit a limitation so early...