What is the best practice for loading animations into layouts?

0 favourites
  • 14 posts
From the Asset Store
Best car suspension with spring effect and very cool terrain generation.
  • Hello everyone, I'm new to C3 and I have been reading a lot of posts and tutorials on optimising memory usage and performance and I wanted to get some opinions or guidance on best practices around animations and effects to optimise my game's performance. Please do point me to the right articles if this has been addressed before as I couldn't really find anything on this. I found a thread about Spine but I didn't really understand it much.

I am working on the core aspect of my game now which is a turn based battle system. There are up to 4 player units and up to 4 enemy units in every battle. Each unit has up to 5 abilities and the string IDs of these abilities are stored in an instance variable of the unit object.

What I will do at startup is to load the player's variables from a server (have not designed this part yet) but most likely it will load a JSON dictionary file. While enemies, abilities and everything else will be loaded from JSON arrays (also loaded from a server). After loading these, there are invisible sprites with variables containing the properties of each of the 5 abilities belonging to all units on the battle field. To illustrate this, these are the objects:

Player1Ability1

Player1Ability2

Player1Ability3

Enemy4Ability4

Enemy4Ability5

So I'm thinking one of the properties of these ability objects would be a string of the filename of the icon / animation files that will be loaded from the server, and I will preload these files once the abilities to be used for the battle instance have been determined. When any unit uses their abilities, the respective sprite object for that ability will be made visible and trigger it's animations.