Bar with same size and different values??

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
From the Asset Store
220 Food Sprites in 16x16 pixel size. Perfect for items for a retro style game.
  • Ok, this has being really tricky to me, since I'm not very good at math.

I have several characters for the player to choose which one to play with. Each of the characters have a different amount of energy. In the screen I have a bar representing the character energy, and I want this bar to decrease it's width as the character energy decreases. The energy decreases at every second.

If the character have 10 of energy, it means that his energy will end quick. And if a character have, lets say, 100 of energy, it means he will last a little longer.

What I am not being able to do is to make the bar behave accordingly with every character.

How to do the bar begin with it's 100% width, no matter what are the character energy, and when the character energy is 0 the bar will have 0% width?

How to make the bar have the same size for every character and yet behave differently according to their energy?

If you have the maths, please give me a hand on this, I've being trying for hours now.

• 'Each player has a different amount of energy' - that's the variable maxHP in my example

calculate hp% = hp/maxHP*100

So if hp is 5 and max is 10 then hp% = 50

if hp is 5 and max is 100 then hp% = 5

if hp is 10 and max is 10 then hp% = 100

if hp is 2 and max is 2 then hp% = 100

Set the bar width to hp% (it'll be from 0 to 100)

• , it did made some sense to me but it also left me more confused.

I made 3 variables:

energyPercentage = 100

energyMax = 1000

energy = energyMax / energyPercentage * 100

Because that's where I came trying your advice.

Then I set the Width of the bar to 'energy'.

And it works as expected. The bar appear on full width. If I decrease the 'energyPercentage' the bar.Width will increase, and vice-versa.

And this clarified a lot, thank you very much.