Array from AJAX file sorting issue

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
From the Asset Store
A master sorting Puzzle fun and addictive puzzle game! A challenging yet relaxing game to exercise your brain!
  • Hello! I am a newbie to Construct 3 (though an experienced programmer) and am having an issue with an array that I am filling from an AJAX request. I followed instructions from a tutorial on reading the file and the array (simple 1-dimensional) APPEARS to be okay when I look at the elements. The first red flag is the last data that shows after I set a display field to AJAX.LastData is actually the very first line of the file. I was expecting it to be the last line of the file. Secondly, when I sort the data, the very first element of the array always goes to the END of the array. Also, when I attempt to look at all the other array elements (via clicking on a list that I filled based on the array elements and sending that value to a text field) none of the elements show up in the text field except the very first element (which, as mentioned above, is actually at the END of the array after my attempted sort.

My spider sense says something is going on weird with my AJAX stuff, especially since I can manually create an array with the same elements and everything works fine. Have been beating my head with this issue for days, wasting precious time, and haven't been able to quite find the answer after countless searches for AJAX file importing help. And I know it's probably a stupidly simple answer. As I mentioned, I am a newbie to C3, usually just buy a couple software Bibles when I am learning something new, but after looking through the online documentation and everything I just haven't been able to find the answer. Will attempt to upload a pic of the situation. Thanks in advance for any kind help you can offer!