[Android] App signing and keystore

0 favourites
  • 2 posts
From the Asset Store
The internet is bombarded daily with new apps (app is the short term for application)
  • Hello!

I finally took the leap and moved on to Construct 3 yesterday. I have been working on the app I'm making for the past 6 months and I thought it was time too start some internal testing via the Play Store since I also want to add analytics and a single IAP in future.

So I also opened a Google Play developer account, and added my app in the console.

I wanted to ask you some advice regarding the app signing feature and check what's best to do and if I did it right or not?

So here is my situation:

• I have a keystore that I created a while back to create signed apk via PhoneGap.
    • When adding the app in Google Play, I have enable the App signing by Google Play inadvertently and uploaded the APK I signed with the keystore I had
    • I read in another thread posted a few months ago that there wasn't much advantage to using this service unless worried to lose the key.

And here are my questions regarding app signing:

1. Do I need to do anything when uploading new builds? Or can I just export and sign the build as usual in Construct 3 with my current keystore then upload it in Google play and it will work?
    2. Since I have backed up my keystore at different places, would it be best not to use the app signing feature, and publish another app instead (since you can't revert the app signing and I'm only at the internal testing stage)?
    3. Is it worth creating a different alias or another keystore, should I want to sell the app in future if I was to make others (probably will never happen haha)?
    4. I released an internal test last night, it's still pending publication, I suppose it's normal since it's the first time I ever released the app?

It's all a bit confusing to me to be honest so I would like to keep it as simple as possible :)

Note: I also read