What's everyone's preferred method of creating sprites, art and animations for their games?

0 favourites
  • 8 posts
From the Asset Store
3 pixel charaters with over 8 animations each + animations with a gun
  • I've run into a huge wall with my project as I have no artistic experience, trying to create pixel animations is a larger job than I thought.

I'm looking for ideas on how to make overcome this hurdle, so what software do people use to make their own art?

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • I'm a professional Animator for many years, Pixel-Art is VERY new to me but animation isn't.

Since pixel-art workflow is very different than what I'm used to (frame by frame animation, vectors, post production effects, etc..) I had to try something new.

I started with a software called Aseprite, it is very easy to use in my opinion, you can make animated pixel art, you can animate, you even have dynamic onion skin so you can see any number of back/forward frames.

I still have much more to learn about pixel art, but as I'm working on my first official game I'm learning the art... of pixel art. I believe that the secret is to practice like in anything else.

There are many softwares out there for pixel art, just choose one you feel isn't too complex or scary for you and start creating simple things, after that you will forget about the UI of the software and as you'll get used to it you will focus on the CREATION progress which is the most important thing.

I hope that some of my tips helped you or at least encourage you to give it a try.

I wish you good luck with your creation journey! :)

* Sorry about my bad English

Example of a simple character IDLE Animation I made in Aseprite: