8 Stages in 1 Layout ∙∙∙VS∙∙∙ X Stages in 8 Layouts?

0 favourites
  • 5 posts
From the Asset Store
Full game Construct 2 and Construct 3 to post on Google Play
  • Hey All,

As I'm still working on the design of my first official game, I'm still learning Construct 3 and have much more to learn and understand.

Since my question is specific for my game I'll give some information so you can understand and share your opinion and suggestions.

1 - My game is based on half-HD resolution = 640x360 using full screen by default.

Means it's not so heavy for most modern PCs compare to heavier resolutions.

2 - Each level will be placed on 1 room, which is based on 640x360, no scrollable stages.

3 - Each room is random generate some elements first, then the game starts. (pre-load is a must here)

4 - My basic idea is: Every Level is built from X rooms, every level = different environment.

Every room is individual, not connected to other room!

5 - Pixel Art is mostly 32x32 but I will have other sizes for the backgrounds, bigger creatures, etc..

6 - I'm building and testing my game on NW.js

GAME DESIGN + LOADING:

Just like the title, I'm wondering what should I choose for the best of the game and the player's experience of course.

1. I'm curious if it will be too heavy, too slow to load all X levels (rooms) ahead in 1 big layout.

or

2. Should I go for each level room will have it's own layout?

By default I would choose each stage (room) on it's own layout, but the problem that I'm "afraid" of is... no smooth pass from stage to stage: if it's graphics transitions and MUSIC that goes on while moving to the next layout.

I'm not even sure if it's possible in Construct 3 or not, is it?

Current TESTS and RESULTS:

So far from my tests I have 1 random generated room (testing room), no main menu, or other layout before that yet (I'll work on it soon) and it's loading SUPER fast, I can't even see the loading bar.