How do I make sprites visible for a short time and only one at a time, randomly?

1 favourites
  • 13 posts
From the Asset Store
A set of 30 Second Music Loops to add Emotion to your game!
  • Hello,

So to summarize, I have 8 sprites that are invisible, I want them to become visible one at a time for a short time and then become invisible again. and I am trying to do random intervals.

Any help would be appreciated!

• Make use of System pick a random instance of Sprite : set visible.

• "Make use of System pick a random instance of Sprite : set visible."

Sorry, I'm very new to all this. Can you elaborate? I clicked Add Event> System> Pick Random Instance> Then it shows to choose an object and I can only pick one sprite.

Do I have to do this for all 8 sprites?

• Are you using 8 sprite objects, or 8 instances/copies of the same object? 8 instances would be more usual. Are you saying you want to make them visible one by one until all 8 are visible then reset them or are they being made visible/invisible randomly?

• Are you using 8 sprite objects, or 8 instances/copies of the same object? 8 instances would be more usual. Are you saying you want to make them visible one by one until all 8 are visible then reset them or are they being made visible/invisible randomly?

They are 8 different objects/sprites. I want them to become visible/invisible randomly but I don't want more than one to show up at the same time. (additionally I would like it to loop too)

• What I mentioned above then would work well except you are using 8 different objects, usually it would be 8 instances of one object. If it is 8 objects then you group them in a Family, and you say pick a random instance of Family.

Since you want only one visible at a time you can start a timer behaviour on the object. Then on the timer finished you can pick a random object again.

• Unfortunately, I'm using the free version, so I guess I can't make families. :(