Need Performance Advice (Android) - Phone getting hot !

0 favourites
  • 14 posts
From the Asset Store
Firebase: Analytics, Dynamic Links, Remote Config, Performance, Crashlytics on Android, iOS & Web Browser
  • My game makes the phone literally heat up.. I've already tested on a few high-end phones too, other users have the same complain. It's a Massive physics-based multiplayer game, been working on it since many years on-and-off, which is why things are not as efficient as they should be. Didn't care about performance back then when I started learning!

With some experience now, I have short-listed the reasons, but I need to be sure which ones are more critical than the other. I need to know which one(s) are likely to be causing the heating issue the most:

1. Numerous collision events (20+ Physics objects, only two of them moving)
    2. High-resolution sprites! 40+ of them! (max is the background 1080p)
    3. 600+ Events (not grouped, all of them in 1 layout/event-sheet) and 30+ global variables
    4. Layout size: 15300 x 1480 (however, scroll-to enabled with viewport of 1920x1080/scale outer)
    5. Other possible factors: Layer Scaling (not constantly), Time-scale set to 1.5, Photon plugin?

Note: I'm not using any Effects.

Thank you!

• Here are the screenshots of debug Inspector/CPU/GPU Profiler etc. Again, I want to know what should I focus on most to eliminate the 'heating' issue. The following is taken from Web preview on my HP OMEN Laptop (GeForce GTX 1060, 8GB shared, 120Hz Display).

Inspector State 1 (this state remains for 70%+ of the game)

Inspector State 2 (this state appears for 20-30% of the game)

CPU Profiler:

GPU Profiler:

I hope everything is normal in all of them above?

Ok fine, better question: I hope not everything is abnormal?

• Numerous collision events (20+ Physics objects, only two of them moving)

This could be an issue, but the numbers don't look very large to me.