Help with TURN/STUN servers (Multiplayer Plugin)

0 favourites
  • 9 posts
From the Asset Store
Game with complete Source-Code (Construct 3 / .c3p) + HTML5 Exported.
  • Hi!

I'm creating a multiplayer game in C3 using just the default multiplayer plugin.

I have some problems with NAT on my router so I can't create rooms in my game. (Just testing with a local connection by duplicating my Opera GX tabs)

I spent the whole week researching this forum, and trying to find some possible solution to that problem of creating my own rooms, and I often found Ashley saying that these TURN / STUN servers are a second option.

I also know that Coturn was mentioned a few times. The problem is that I'm not a programmer and I don't know how to create a TURN / STUN server on my computer and get the "stun: stun.example.com" to paste into the "Add ICE server" action.

Any tutorial, link or comment with some way to do this would be great. Thank anyone in advance for future help!

• You normally wouldn't run your own, you would use one provided by a third party service. The default multiplayer plugin already includes some turn servers. Stun is what you're looking for, but they are usually not free. I think there are some that are though, for at least low connection counts.

If you're having connection issues on your own computer, I don't think running a stun server on it would help either. Since then your computer would be the one relaying data to clients, but it has connectivity issues in the first place so it wouldn't be a useful relay.

Edit: Oops sorry mixed the two up ><

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • The default multiplayer plugin already includes some turn servers. Stun is what you're looking for