Can't figure out how to prevent scrolling beyond bounding sprites (in a pixel-perfect manner)

0 favourites
  • 8 posts
From the Asset Store
Particles support animations, collisions, effects and etc.
  • Hello.

This is what I'm looking to achieve:

• I want to use 16x16 sprites (square tiles) as bounding objects that my camera can't scroll past under any circumstances.
    • In other words, the camera should never be able to scroll so far that it's able to show even a pixel beyond the edges of these bounding tiles.
    • This also means that If I have a room that is smaller than the viewport, the camera should stay right in the center of the room.

I've been using Construct for about 10 years and I've spent the past four hours trying to figure this out using various approaches (sprite collision, offset algorithms, clamp etc.) and even though I feel like my solutions should work, they just don't.

If anyone can tell me how to achieve this (i.e. the actual specifics rather than a vague suggestion) then I would be very grateful.

Thanks for taking the time to read! :-)

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • this is what I would do...

create Min and Max sprites for X and Y, and clamp the camera coordinates to their locations.

https://www.rieperts.com/games/forum/LimitCamera.capx

this puts the limit markers where to stop the camera... you can still see beyond that so you have to calculate where to put them. if you dont want to see anything beyond the edge of the layout, you have to put these far enough in to accomplish that.

it you want to set these at the limit of what you see, then you have to calculate an offset from them based on the viewport size.

• this is what I would do...

create Min and Max sprites for X and Y, and clamp the camera coordinates to their locations.

https://www.rieperts.com/games/forum/LimitCamera.capx