C3 on Mac - your experiences

0 favourites
  • 15 posts
From the Asset Store
Jump on the mole rats and see how far you can go!
  • Hi there!

I just started programming my game in C3 and even though it works smashingly well on PC's and even Android Remote Previews, my one year old MacBook PRO with 16 GB of Ram etc. stutters and spouts whenever going Fullscreen with the Game. It has some basic lighting and overlay effects as well as two particle effects on the test background, but it's at a Resolution of 256*144. The problem happens only when i set the fullscreen quality to "high", which i really want to do since i want to use Webfonts to support different languages. It doesn't really work all that great on "low" quality fullscreen mode either if i'm honest but oh well...

I already opened up a Bug Report on the Scirra Github but i'm guessing there's not much they can do about it even though i think there should be a way to optimize this for the platform. And, yes, i tried every browser, my drivers are updated, etc. Other games work perfectly well on my computer, i'm an Interaction Design Student, i use it for 3D Modeling/Rendering, After Effects, Premiere Pro etc. never had a Problem. Of course, my uber super Gaming PC will be faster at those things but the Mac surely isn't too slow for a small Gameboy Resolution Game with some Effects...

Especially since it worked perfectly well on PC's and even on my Android Phone via Remote Preview... I'm kind of desperate, since i was even contacted by the Apple App Store who took an interest in my Game for Promotion and i've told them it would be out for Mac as well, since i work on Mac and i mean... if it works on a standard Windows Computer it shouldn't have a problem with Macs either...

Any Ideas?

BTW, here's the link to the Bug Report: https://github.com/Scirra/Construct-3-bugs/issues

Thanks!

Joel