(But with some HTML experience):: A site like Kotaku

0 favourites
  • 2 posts
From the Asset Store
A set of vector game assets contains ground tiles and several objects, used for creating platformer games
  • I just want a littlesite to do my own game reviews and things like that. I have some very basic knowledge of HTM/CSS. Doing some courses with edX/W3C to learn more advanced stuff, and learn some JS.

If possible, can someone explain in simplish terms how I would make a site like Kotaku (or other review sites), that allow me to post articles, and not having to make a new webpage by hand with every single one. Is this something done with JS or PHP, or other programming? Would I be better just using a blog site for now?

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • There's a few methods you can do it by. The bare bones approaches involve you using a static hosting provider, these are services where you upload some files and they are just served to anyone visiting the address. You pay something like 10 quid a year for a domain name, and then whatever the provided charges. Some services like AWS only charge you for bandwidth usage, which for a low traffic site can be in the pennies each month.

If you are less fussed about what domain name you have then you can create a website on GitHub for free using GitHub Pages. The domain name will be something like accountname.github.com but it there's no fees and you get HTTPS on your site ( something kotaku themselves haven't sorted out ).