Bug? Gamepad input being received but not triggering actions.

0 favourites
  • 8 posts
From the Asset Store
Total customisation of the input! You can combine inputs from all peripherals. Make your game accessible for everyone!
  • Greetings! I'm new to Construct 3, and I've just been poking around my first little game experiment. I've abstracted the input scheme into boolean variables like Control_Left, Control_Right, etc. This way I can attach multiple events (using an OR block) to the setting of the boolean and be able to support different input types. I was specifically after allowing both Keyboard and Gamepad objects to control my little escape pod character.

What I'm seeing is this: the Keyboard object triggers the boolean change just fine. This, in turn, triggers the actual character movement. So far, so good, right? Well, the Gamepad object does NOT trigger the boolean change. Now, when I'm in the debug view, I can actually see that the Gamepad object itself is receiving input from the gamepad. Button values are being sent to the engine and are showing up as being pressed, but those button values do not trigger the boolean change. Thus, my little escape pod dude doesn't move.

I've posted a short video to YouTube demonstrating this. It's short (1:22) and has no sound. It shows the relevant part of the event sheet and then shows the debug view. I demonstrate the receipt of input values from the Gamepad object (it changes between receiving button values 14 and 15, which are left and right on the D-Pad), but no motion happens. Then I hit the left and right arrow keys, and the little escape pod putters left and right as it should. Here's the vid:

Subscribe to Construct videos now