Ruby Winds - an adventure game inspired by the GB Zeldas

0 favourites
  • 4 posts
From the Asset Store
2025 files of +900 unique phrases of a young energetic female hero for FPS, RPG, Action, Adventure, Survival games etc.
  • Hey there!

"Ruby Winds" is the name of a project I have been working on religiously since March or so. The gameplay is similar to Oracle of Seasons/Ages and Link's Awakening (the GB Zelda games), and most of my inspiration was pulled from that series. The player's main weapon is a bow, and it will be used to solve various puzzles/get through dungeons. As for the plot .. I won't delve into too many details, as I'd like to show off a demo in the near future.

Here is a video and a few screenshots/GIFs/songs I've composed for it. Note that everything (with the exception of the chest/mimic enemy) is drawn by me. I am by no means an artist, and at some point in the future I'll be looking to bring on a teammate to help redraw most of them.

---VIDEO:---

Subscribe to Construct videos now

---SCREENSHOTS---

The Featherwood: this is the first area of the game. Most of the enemies are your standard fare - bats that fire sonar beams, rabbits, and a few more unique ones like rotating purple towers (not shown here).

Dialogue is treated just like in standard RPGs. Text displays letter-by-letter, and then you can progress through it at will. There are also commands for skipping text, going back, etc.

---GIFs:---

Automap: tracks your current location, marks completion percentage, and more.

Sprite: A dancing monkey NPC holding bullseyes.

---MUSIC:---

I have used FamiTracker and FL Studio for the compositions. Here are a few.

The Featherwood: the first area in the game.

Beryl Ruins: the first dungeon.

Nocking Point: the protag's home village.

Ricardo Fox: a character's theme.

That should be all for now. I have a lot of other things I'd like to show, but I'd rather they be experienced in-game.

Comments and thoughts are welcome. Enjoy!