Teacher: Moving from browser games to phone apps

0 favourites
  • 4 posts
From the Asset Store
This is a single chapter from the Construct Starter Kit Collection and the Student Workbook from the Workshop.
  • Hi all!

I'm a fresh teacher and last year started using Construct 2 in my classes. I had a good Year 9 class and their final projects was this game:

scirra.com/arcade/action/2114/zero-g-game

They had to build the game and then make modifications like a reverse thruster and also build their own levels.

I will continue using Construct 2 this year, but I'm very interested in creating phone apps, but I feel overwhelmed as to what I need to get.

I'm not looking for a guide, just some pointers to resources / manuals. Personally I have a Windows Phone 8 (Lumia 620), but I read something about having to use Visual Studio and that confused me.

As a teacher I am looking for the "easiest" solution to be honest in terms of getting everything up and running and access to good resources.

Also what devices are recommended. I will likely only purchase a single device, the students will work on a Windows 7 PC with Chrome.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • Well. If you're looking for the most straight-forward solution, you can't go wrong with CocoonJS' cloud service, the Intel Appmobi XDK or Phonegap Build.

My personal favourite is Phonegap Build, which doesn't even require any additional software. Just sign-up with them or sign-in with an existing Github account, upload a zipped folder with all your files and press "Build".

Supported platforms: Android, iOS, WebOS, Bada, BlackberryOS 5/6/7, Symbian and Windows Phone 7.

In addition to the aforementioned platforms, the regular (offline) Phonegap also supports Tizen and Windows Phone 8, but requires quite a bit more work.