How do I make a sprite move on click on platform like map

0 favourites
  • 7 posts
From the Asset Store
High quality sound effect pack, in the following categories: Simple, negative, pozitive
  • Hello! I'm new to Construct 2 using it on a friend's computer before I buy so I make sure Construct is ok for what I want to do. I'm trying to get something to work but we didn't find any solution:

I'd like to make a 'This War Of Mine' like movement for my units. They are on a 2D map and can move only horizontally. So I'm trying to make them go wherever the user clicks but I'm getting different issues with the different options I've tried. The best results I could get by now are with Custom Movement behavior and accelerating toward position but nothing works properly :

X=0 and Y=Mouse.Y makes the sprite move left when I click on its left but it still goes left (walking backwards) when I click on its right(oO).

X=Mouse.X and Y=0 makes it oddly fly more or less pointing towards mouse position.

I guess Pathfinding isn't really an option here as there's no solid to stop it from going up or down.

And two smaller problems I haven't really been digging into for now are:

-I need the sprite to point toward this direction (mirror if I click behind its back; Do I need to create variables to constantly check its position, cut the screen in two parts according to this position and make it defined wheter I click on the back part or the front part?)

-Once it started accelerating toward a position it doesn't stop (It looks like there are other questions like this on the forum so I'll probably check it if my first problem is solved and you don't wanna take the time to explain here )

Thank you very much for taking the time to read this.

• Not sure I can help without seeing a CAPX but if you only want the players to move horizontally then you only need to change the X coordinate which is left and right on the screen.