[Solved] How do I Retrieve Data with AJAX JSON

0 favourites
  • 10 posts
From the Asset Store
Data+ is the best Data Management solution for Construct 3. It contains 4 Addons (Plugin & Behavior).
  • Hello all,

I am a experienced web developer. I created a AJAX event to a URL when the event is trigger the AJAX error function gets called. I checked the network movement with Chrome and I see it heading to the right URL but it's getting 301 headers (Moved permanently)(Also I'm not sure if this is a bug but the call gets repeated about every half a second and it froze my Chrome browser). I open the url it is pointing to (copied it from the network box) and I'm getting a 200 OK message. Any clue what is going on? I checked my page output and this is all that is there

[["Andrew",90],["John",80],["Austin",70]][/code:1y20b96b]
    No HTML, is that the problem?
  • No, it's not a problem. I've created a few RESTful web services which return bare JSON and successfully consumed them in Construct with the AJAX requests.

Can you show us the event sheet where you request the url and process returned data?

• If you are previewing through localhost, you will not get any response from your web server, because "By default, browsers block AJAX requests across domains.".

As for "(Also I'm not sure if this is a bug but the call gets repeated about every half a second and it froze my Chrome browser)" check how your event is fired.

Hopefully that is the case with localhost, but since you're experienced, I'm not sure, heh.

• If you are adressing a PHP page with the Ajax call, add:

header('Access-Control-Allow-Origin: *');

to your PHP page.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • Or just use this: https://chrome.google.com/webstore/deta ... ljbi?hl=en