How do I Shorten my code? Functions and loops?

0 favourites
  • 7 posts
From the Asset Store
Two levels with two sistem Wave. with Source-code (.c3p) + HTML5 Exported.
  • Good day everyone,

Let me at first justify my post on this busy forum: I searched everywhere and tried to fix the problem myself, but, well, it didn't work. I am using free version of Construct 2, right now just testing the possibilities, and I have basic code experience - and that is what the questions is going to be about. I was able to implement so far all ideas I had in mind, and now I am trying to shorten my events amount and learn more advanced event handling.

So, long story short:

On game field there are n-number of substances. Picking two different substances creates a new potion. That potion moves automatically to the 2-container-inventory, and gets ready to be used (by a player).

A couple of rules:

1. There cannot be more than two potions in inventory.

2. Substances cannot be gathered if both inventory slots are taken.

3. If you already have substanceN, you cannot take another substanceN.

These all described above already works in the following event system. Now, I am trying to shorten my code and try learning/using advanced options Construct 2 has to offer.

Description of the code (.capx - I canot post URLs due to my low reputation, so please, just remove spaces in the following: http:// 1drv.ms /1OhN5iz ). It will lead to my cloud with access only to this file.

(First group - Dictionaries)

I used two dictionaries to store amount of potions and substances. Global variables were used before, and moving to a dictionary helped to decrease the amount of events roughly by 20.

(Second group - substanceGathering)

On collision with player substances get destroyed and are moved to the dictionary. System checks the total amount of potions in 2 container inventory (an array), and permits gathering if the amount is 2 or more.

(Third group - potionsBrewing)